Thursday, January 20, 2011

Secretary of State Kemp Reminds Voters of Early Voting Period in State House Districts 136 and 178 Special Elections

Georgia Secretary of State Brian Kemp reminded voters today that early in-person voting has started for the Tuesday, February 15 Special Elections to fill the vacancies in state House Districts 136 and 178. Early in-person voting ends on Friday, February 11. The deadline to request a mail-in ballot is Friday, February 11; mail-in ballots must be received by the voter’s county elections office by the close of polls on Election Day.

The elections are non-partisan Special Elections with no party primary. However, each candidate’s party affiliation, if any, will be listed on the ballot.

The election for state House District 136 will occur in Crawford County and portions of Bibb, Houston, Lamar, Monroe, Peach and Upson Counties. The election for state House District 178 will occur in Brantley and Pierce Counties and a portion of Wayne County.

Secretary Kemp reminded voters to utilize the Secretary of State’s My Voter Page (MVP) voter education website before participating in the Special Election. The MVP website allows voters to view their sample ballot, find the early voting locations in their county and their Election Day polling location, check their registration status, track the status of their mail-in ballot and more. The MVP website can be accessed at

Secretary Kemp also encouraged Georgians to assist his agency with preventing election fraud. The Stop Voter Fraud website allows Georgians to report questionable election activity online or via the Stop Voter Fraud hotline. Citizens who witness questionable election-related activity can submit a Stop Voter Fraud form at or call the Secretary of State’s Voter Fraud Hotline at 877-725-9797.

Voters who cast their ballot early in-person or on Election Day will be required to show one of the following forms of photo ID:

· A Georgia driver’s license, even if expired;

· Any valid state or federal government issued photo ID, including a free Voter ID Card issued by your county registrar or Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS);

· Valid U.S. passport;

· Valid employee photo ID from any branch, department, agency, or entity of the U.S. Government, Georgia, or any county, municipality, board, authority, or other entity of this state;

· Valid U.S.. military photo ID; or

· Valid tribal photo ID.

If a voter does not have one of these forms of photo identification, they can obtain a free voter ID card at their county registrar’s office or the Georgia Department of Driver Services. Photo identification is not required when voting by mail. For additional information about Georgia’s photo ID requirement please visit

Polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. on Tuesday, February 15.

Brian Kemp was sworn in as Secretary of State in January 2010. Among the office’s wide-ranging responsibilities, the Secretary of State is charged with conducting efficient and secure elections, the registration of corporations, and the regulation of securities and professional license holders. The office also oversees the Georgia Archives and the Capitol Museum.
Community News You Can Use
Click to read MORE news:
Twitter: @gafrontpage & @TheGATable @HookedonHistory
Twitter: @artsacrossga, @softnblue, @RimbomboAAG
Twitter: @FayetteFP

No comments:

Post a Comment

We do not publish all comments, and we may not publish comments immediately. We will NOT post any comments with LINKS, nor will we publish comments that are commercial in nature.

Constructive debate, even opposing views, are welcome, but personal attacks on other commenters or individuals in the article are not, and will not be published.

We will not publish comments that we deem to be obscene, defamatory, or intended to incite violence.