Wednesday, January 27, 2010

WNEG-TV to originate, televise Democratic gubernatorial debate

The University of Georgia’s WNEG-TV will originate and televise the Democratic debate of gubernatorial candidates on Tuesday, Feb. 2, from the Athens campus.

The one-hour debate will begin at 7 p.m. with WNEG-TV news anchor Ray Metoyer moderating. A panel of journalists, comprised of Tim Bryant of WGAU/Cox Radio, Stephanie Fisher of WGCL-TV, Atlanta, and Dawn Hobby with WALB-TV, Albany, will present questions to the candidates.

The state Democratic Party and the University of Georgia Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication is sponsoring the campus event in the South Auditorium, Psychology-Journalism Plaza.

All five announced gubernatorial candidates are confirmed participants in the Athens debate. Attending will be State Attorney General Thurbert Baker, former Georgia governor Roy Barnes, former Georgia Secretary of State David Poythress, House Minority Leader Dubose Porter, and Ray City Mayor Carl Camon.

While the event is not open to the general public, it will be broadcast live on Athens’ WNEG, WALB of Albany, WGCL of Atlanta, and WMAZ of Macon. The Georgia News Network also will carry audio of the debate live over its coverage area.

Georgians will elect a new governor on Nov. 2. Incumbent Republican Governor Sonny Perdue is term-limited and unable to seek re-election.

For more information on the debate, contact Democratic Party of Georgia staffer Eric Gray at 678/278-2108.

WNEG-TV also sponsored and broadcast the GOP Gubernatorial Debate on Tuesday, Jan. 19, from the UGA campus.

Fayette Front Page
Georgia Front Page
Follow us on Twitter: @GAFrontPage

No comments:

Post a Comment

We do not publish all comments, and we may not publish comments immediately. We will NOT post any comments with LINKS, nor will we publish comments that are commercial in nature.

Constructive debate, even opposing views, are welcome, but personal attacks on other commenters or individuals in the article are not, and will not be published.

We will not publish comments that we deem to be obscene, defamatory, or intended to incite violence.